Most B.C. ministers shuffled as feds swear in new cabinet

Only one B.C. cabinet minister retaining prior portfolio

Parliament Hill in Ottawa | Serega Eplua/Getty Images

MPs representing the West Coast have new portfolios on their hands after the federal Liberals’ new cabinet was sworn in Tuesday.

Former defence minister Harjit Sajjan, MP for Vancouver South, has been shuffled over to minister of international development and minister responsible for the Pacific Economic Development Agency.

His demotion comes after the emergence of disturbing and widespread issues regarding sexual misconduct within the top ranks of Canada’s military.

Vancouver Quadra MP Joyce Murray, formerly the minister of digital government, was sworn in as minister of fisheries, oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard.

North Vancouver MP Jonathan Wilkinson will now serve as natural resources minister after previously serving as minister of environment and climate change.

Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion Minister Carla Qualtrough retains her portfolio following the swearing-in ceremony.

She has served as the MP for Delta since 2015.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau was tasked with building a cabinet meant to reach gender parity and generally reflect the geographical makeup of the country. 

A total of 15 Liberal MPs were elected following last month’s federal election, which resulted in little change to overall make-up of the House of Commons.

Prior to Tuesday’s swearing-in ceremony, Trudeau had previously confirmed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Chrystia Freeland would be retaining her No. 2 position within cabinet.

There are 39 members of the new cabinet, with only seven of them retaining their previous portfolios

Full list of cabinet appointments:

·      Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Chrystia Freeland

·      Minister of Transport Omar Alghabra

·      Minister of National Defence Anita Anand

·      Minister of Mental Health and Addictions and Associate Minister of Health Carolyn Bennett

·      Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Marie-Claude Bibeau

·      President of Queen’s Privy Council for Canada and Minister of Emergency Preparedness Bill Blair

·      Minister of Tourism and Associate Minister of Finance Randy Boissonnault

·      Minister of Innovation, Science and Commerce Francois-Phillipe Champagne

·      Minister of Health Jean-Yves Duclos

·      President, Treasury Board Mona Fortier

·      Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Sean Fraser

·      Minister of Families, Children and Social Development Karina Gould

·      Minister of Environment and Climate Change Steven Guilbeault

·      Minister of Indigenous Services and Minister responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Northern Ontario Patty Hajdu

·      Leader of the Government in the House of Commons Mark Holland

·      Minister of Housing and Diversity and Inclusion Ahmed Hussen

·      Minister of Rural Economic Development Gudie Hutchings

·      Minister of Women, Gender Equality and Youth Marci Ien

·      Minister responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario Helena Jaczek

·      Minister of Foreign Affairs Mélanie Joly

·      Minister of Seniors Kamal Khera

·      Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada David Lametti

·      Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities Dominic Leblanc

·      Minister of National Revenue Diane Lebouthillier

·      Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence Lawrence MacAulay

·      Minister of Public Safety Marco Mendicino

·      Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations Marc Miller

·      Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard Joyce Murray

·      Minister of International Trade, Export Promotion, Small Business and Economic Development Mary Ng

·      Minister of Labour Seamus O’Regan Jr.

·      Minister of Official Languages and Minister responsible for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency Ginette Petitpas Taylor

·      Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion Carla Qualtrough

·      Minister of Canadian Heritage and Quebec Lieutenant Pablo Rodriguez

·      Minister of International Development and Minister responsible for the Pacific Economic Development Agency of Canada Harjit Sajjan

·      Minister of Sport and Minister responsible for the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec Pascale St-Onge

·      Minister of Public Services and Procurement Filomena Tassi

·      Minister of Northern Affairs, Minister responsible for the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency Dan Vandal

·      Minister of Natural Resources Jonathan Wilkinson