BC CEO Awards


Business in Vancouver has announced five recipients for this year’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Year awards.

The winners were nominated for their corporate leadership of British Columbia companies and institutions, along with their particular impacts during the pandemic.

The recipients are: Ryan Beedie, president of Beedie, in the Large Company category; Brad Liski, CEO of Tru Earth, in the Small Company Category; Marcia Nozick, CEO of EMBERS, in the Lifetime Achievement category; Sue Paish, CEO of the Digital Technology Supercluster, in the Publicly Accountable category;  and Dick Vollet, CEO of the St. Paul’s Hospital Foundation, in the Not-for-Profit category.

“These selections exemplify excellence in economic leadership in British Columbia,” said Kirk LaPointe, BIV publisher and editor-in-chief. “Their accomplishments in challenging circumstances have been exceptional.”

The CEO of the Year winners will receive their awards at an event November 29, held in conjunction with the annual Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of the Year celebrations. 


Gold Sponsors



2020 Winners

Large Company Winner:

Shahrzad Rafati - Founder and CEO, BroadbandTV Corp.

Shahrzad Rafati

Small Company Winner:

Milton Carrasco - President and CEO Transoft Solutions Inc.

Milton Carrasco

Enterprise Company Winner:

Roger Dall'Antonia - President and CEO FortisBC

Roger Dall'Antonia

Publicly Accountable Winner:

Ann English - CEO and Registrar Engineers and Geoscientists BC

Ann English

Not-For-Profit Winner:

Darlene Hyde - CEO British Columbia Real Estate Association

Darlene Hyde

Award of Distinction:

Cathy Thorpe - President and CEO Nurse Next Door

Cathy Thorpe

2019 Winners

Public Services Company Category
Not for Profit Company Category
Small Company Category
Mid-Market Company Category
Large Company Category
Enterprise Company Cateogry